Hanau: Brothers Grimm Culture Centre – Concept Development

The brothers Jakob and Wilhelm Grimm spent their childhood and young teenage years in Hanau. To this day, there are still many traces of the Brothers Grimm to be found in the city of around 90,000 people in the Rhine/Main area.

In 2012, we supported the city of Hanau with concrete ideas on how to establish a new point of focus in the childhood home of the Brothers Grimm and to really put the Brothers on the map in both the state of Hesse and in Germany.

The focal point will be the Brothers Grimm Cultural Centre: the two exhibition areas of “Grimmland” and “Fairytale Wonderland” provide creative and surprising ways to encounter the academics Jakob and Wilhelm and fun and challenging insights into children’s and household tales. There are also writing, painting and theatre workshops as additional modules, as well as an optional room for a Brothers Grimm archive and the “Hanau Marionnette Theatre”.

Hanau: Brüder-Grimm-Kulturzentrum – Konzeptentwicklung

Die Brüder Jakob und Wilhelm Grimm verbrachten ihre Kinder- und frühen Jugendjahre in Hanau. Noch heute finden sich in der 90.000 Einwohner zählenden Stadt im Rhein-Main-Gebiet viele Spuren der Brüder.

Wir haben die Stadt Hanau 2012 mit konkreten Ideen unterstützt, einen neuen Fixpunkt in der Brüder-Grimm-Stadt zu schaffen und sich auf der Landkarte der Brüder-Grimm-Angebote in Hessen und Deutschland prominenter zu positionieren.

Das Herzstück bildet dabei das Brüder-Grimm-Kulturzentrum: Kreative und überraschende Zugänge zu den Wissenschaftlern Jakob und Wilhelm, spielerische und herausfordernde Einblicke in die Kinder- und Hausmärchen – dies schaffen die beiden Ausstellungsbereiche „Grimmland“ und „Märchenwunderland“. Als weitere Module schließen sich Text-, Maler- und Theater-Werkstatt an, sowie optional Raum für ein Brüder-Grimm-Archiv und das „Hanauer Marionettentheater“.